They Say the 2nd Trimester is Supposed to Be Easy

22 Jan

*sigh*

Another random pain alert.

TMI pain description to follow cut.

My nipples HURT.  I had sore breasts for the first month or so that I knew I was pregnant, but that went away.  And now I have a separate, but far more irritating pain concentrated in my nipples.  Most of the time it’s a dull ache and they’re just sensitive to touch, but sometimes it becomes an itch or a sharp, needle-like pain.  The worst offender is lefty over here, but righty gets in on it, too.

This pain has to be related to one of the following factors:

  • It’s been kinda cold (I’m a south Texas wimp) and my body is just sensitive.  Having hard nips 75% of the time is not easy on me.
  • I’m leaking colostrum already (since week 17~18), though just drops here or there and the sharper pains may be correlated to leakage.  (more investigation needed to prove this)
  • The washing machines at the laundromat had enough soap residue to make me itch/My husband bought and used soap there. (unlikely, but I have to think of all the possibilities.)
  • This could somehow be related to diabetic neuropathy?  (I don’t have numbness or pains like this in my hands or feet so this is the reaching for a horrible cause hypothesis.)

I’m trying to get a hold of an friend’s mom who is an L.C.  and I see Dr. V on Tuesday, so I should have answers soon.  Again, as long as it doesn’t feel horrible (this is more annoying and bothersome than death-like), and I don’t show signs related to an infection, I’ve got to just assume, it’s just an annoying, but normal, part of pregnancy that no one talks about.

I’m going to go sleep.

Leave a Reply

