It’s Gettin’ to Be That Time

17 Jan

Soooooooo…

Being at 20 weeks means that pretty soon my doc will tell me if my hubby and I are having a little boy or a little girl.

I know I’ve been leaning towards one side of the binary and I’ve been telling people that it doesn’t matter to me because no matter what sex my child may be born as, I don’t want to make him/her/zhir feel like they have to live up to some specific gendered stereotype… or only have toys that are pink or not be allowed to play with dolls.   (Other people desire that too: here’s an old news item about a Swedish couple that specifically refused to reveal their child’s sex to avoid confining the child to a gender.)

But I’m really excited to find out!  I can’t wait!  My doc didn’t specifically say that she’d tell me on Tuesday when I’m there so I’m hoping that at the very least I can schedule the appointment to find out, if she won’t be able to tell me tomorrow.

What do you think?

Also: if you’re really bored, here’s a list of names we like – a.k.a. the list that proves our nerdiness, so leave it alone!

Names I like if our baby is a girl:

  • Amelia
  • Anastasia
  • Artemis
  • Aurora
  • Ava
  • Frieda/Frida
  • Hermione
  • Kay/Kaye
  • Lillian
  • Minerva
  • Molly
  • Sofia/Sophia
  • Zoila

Names I like if our baby is a boy:

  • Alexander
  • Christopher
  • Elijah
  • Ezra
  • Felix
  • Harrison
  • Ira
  • Leonidas
  • Liam
  • Logan
  • Luke/Lucas
  • Maximos/Maximus/Maximillian
  • Merlin
  • Phoenix
  • Sebastian
  • Sirius
  • Tristan
  • Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore (okay, just kidding… kinda.)
4 Responses to “It’s Gettin’ to Be That Time”

  1. Pat January 17, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    One of the nice things about Amelia (or Amalia…which has been a apart of the eldest girl’s name for a long time in my family) is that Molly can always be used as nickname. Mom’s (Amalia) bane of a nickname growing up was Leia 😛

    • andapinchofsalt January 18, 2011 at 8:21 am #

      Well, we were trying to work in Leia somehow… 🙂 I hadn’t considered that Molly could be short for Amelia. I like it!

  2. Nancy January 19, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    I’m not going to lie I like Merlin and Aurora =) But that’s the Disney nerd in me lol! Aw I think you’ll know when you see them ❤

    • andapinchofsalt January 19, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

      I think we’ve got the final name picked out if the child is a girl, but we’re iffy on the name if the child is a boy. I’m just not telling teh interwebz just yet because I want to meet the little bugger first to be sure.

Leave a Reply

