A few snippets from the last week

9 Dec

I was at a birth Monday night.  A sister-doula’s daughter was going in for an induction and the person who was going to be the second support person was sick, so they invited me.  It was my first birth!  I didn’t do much, but it felt good to be able to see this actually happen and to do what I could to be a helper.  I’m not the type of person who feels comfortable sitting and doing nothing.  Anyway, the birth went very smoothly considering she had a couple of interventions.  The baby boy was beautiful, not too long, and had the cutest chubby cheeks.  Mom seemed to be doing well and even got to nurse some.  It was a wonderful experience.

I went to see Dr. Endocrine, or rather Ms. J, his nurse practitioner last week.  They’re content with the progress in my numbers but there is work to be done.  I need to really crack down on my exercise and eating habits (newsflash: I’ve been using, “I’m busy” as an excuse to eat fast food).  I have a carb counting class before my next appointment (literally, right before) so that should help.

Dr. Endocrine thinks I would make a good candidate for an insulin pump, if I can afford it.  The thought of being constantly hooked up to a medical device is frankly terrifying.  I have a consultation with a pump rep or something like that right before that carb class (literally right before) so I’ll hear them out and learn of the cost to me, but I really don’t see myself being happy with that.  I don’t know if I’m ready to say that I will be on insulin for the long term.  I really want to not be.  I don’t like this disease.  It’s not fun to know that even though I don’t feel sick every day, I am, and it feels like it’s only a matter of time before neuropathy and kidney failure and heart disease take me.  I’m 23, going on 24, and I’m about to have a kid.  I have to be responsible, but it just feels like I’m too “young” to have to deal with this shit…

There is an article called “Tethered to the Body” that I ran across a few months ago.  It describes the feelings being unable to detach yourself from the device in a figurative way when you’re trying to be intimate with a partner.  It’s kind of a horror story to me.

On a positive note, I got to see Dr. V for my first official prenatal visit.  Got to hear the baby’s heartbeat with the doppler – it was cool!  And most importantly, reassuring.  Stay in there you little leech!

I couldn’t follow through with the insurance benefits explanation with L, the office’s benefits explainer, because I have overlapping coverage right now: my new insurance (hopefully slightly better, at least as I understand it) started on the 1st and my part-time job’s insurance will be terminated around New Year’s.  They only had the old insurance on file and it’s not worth it to either us to sit and explain a policy we know will be terminated within 30 days when she just needs to verify my new insurance and I’ll be in the office again next Thursday.

Oh yeah, can I get an non-enthused “huzzah for blood draws”?  ‘Cause that’s what I go in for next week.  I hope their resident vampire is as good as Ms. Y from Dr. Diablita’s office, because the ladies at Dr. Endocrine’s certainly don’t have her magic.

One Response to “A few snippets from the last week”

  1. Pat December 10, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    ❤ Most insulin pumps can be removed for intimate moments and any sort of water immersion–you just have to remember to replace them afterwards. I mean, I guess in that sense it sits on your night stand watching you, but it doesn't have to be a part of it.

    Insulin pumps ARE scary…there's so much that can go wrong. One of my sister's friends had one that was nothing but bad news…though honestly, she treated herself badly with it, thinking that she could get away with anything (both in the sense of ANYTHING and food intake) because of it.

    There are two bad moments that I remember most; one was when her little brother yanked it hard enough to break it, and the second was when the pump malfunctioned and she, more or less, overdosed on insulin (mainly because she let it malfunction for over a day of constantly giving her insulin before even thinking to check it…this gal wasn't too smart when it came to taking care of herself).

    This being said, I have a friend who was put on one last year and loves it. After the initial irritation/awkwardness went away (which included discomfort, soreness, bleeding, and oozing where the lead went in), she went on with her merry life. She has two kids which at the time it was introduced were 2 and 3, and so far so good. She was dead set against getting one until she passed out at work from not keeping an eye on her sugar levels. For her, the pump provides added security and freedom. It does most of the work for you, without needing your intervention. Her insurance was more than happy to cover it too, since it tends to save money in the long run over self injected insulin.

Leave a Reply

