Too High Risk

26 Oct

Called the midwives to see if there were any cancellations for a later appointment and found out that they have collectively decided after reviewing my records that I’m too high risk.  They absolutely won’t take me as a midwifery patient.  I don’t know what all the record says, but this news does make me feel disheartened.

It makes me wonder if there are other indications besides my weight and previously unchecked Type II diabetes.

I can’t let worry and disappointment weight me down.  There are good things I know for sure: I know my body is both amazing and mysterious, I know I do not want to be induced (by medicine or AROM) if I am not experiencing an urgent medical condition (pre-eclampsia, etc.)  and I know, that at the VERY LEAST, I want to try my hand at labor and pushing, preferably un-medicated.   I know I can still have the birth that I believe is right by me and my unborn child.  I’m just going to have to go with an OB/GYN.

2 Responses to “Too High Risk”

  1. katie October 29, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    they may have also taken into consideration that you had some high blood pressure readings.

    • andapinchofsalt October 31, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

      But the doctor hasn’t even tried to listen to me that I have medical anxieties and most of those readings were taken when I was stressed or in one case, right after a low blood sugar episode. At my endocrine visit 10/25, my reading was 100/60 – normal. I can have normal BP and I’m reducing my sodium intake and trying to “move” more. But I guess that whole situation is why I’m looking for a new doc.

Leave a Reply

